Dartmouth Players

  • Contact: Bill Hunt
  • Address:
    Yorke House
    2 Yorke Road
    Dartmouth, Devon TQ6 9HN
  • Telephone: 01803 832036
  • Close

    Dartmouth Players

    Dartmouth Players is a non professional community drama group based in Dartmouth, Devon. We produce 2 or 3 productions a year ranging from serious plays to musical and pantomime, mainly at the Flavel Theatre, Dartmouth.  

    Join in the fun and excitement of our creative projects. The Dartmouth Players is a friendly, go-ahead innovative theatre company, often performing original work with technically advanced multi media productions. We were formed in October 1929 by Cyril Maude, an ex professional light comedy actor/manager who had retired to Dartmouth after a stage career spanning 42 years. Over the next 82 years no less than 220 productions have entertained Dartmouth audiences in a number of different locations.

    Our main current performance space is the Flavel Theatre, Dartmouth, although we occasionally perform elsewhere, such as local churches.  We are a non profit making organisation with full visibility of our finances through AGM's and audited accounts, published to our members.

    We have a costume/props store plus rehearsal space at the Flavel Church, Dartmouth. We aim to perform at least two main productions a year. Social events are occasionally organised throughout the year.

    The Dartmouth Players is run by a management team. The chairman is currently Bill Hunt, Treasurer Norman Cork and Secretary Linda Churchill. Members are: John Stephenson, Anna Gwillam, Julie Tomkinson. Sally Salmon and Graham Holman. Current writers/directors/musical directors: Bill Hunt, Norman Cork and Linda Churchill

    We have a thriving membership of  around 60 people of all ages, and welcome new members.

    The Dartmouth Players have a long history. The following honorary members are people who have been part of the group for 30 or more years and/or have made a significant contribution.. Daphne and Derek Scorer, Janet Godfrey, Joan King, Mararet Rowe and Irene Scawn